I Wanna Iguana

Cover Image I Wanna Iguana is a delightful picture book written by Karen Kaufman Orloff and illustrated by David Catrow. It was published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons in 2004. I remember when this book first came out, one of my nephews, who was about six at the time, absolutely loved it. I can understand why. It’s about a boy who writes notes back and forth to his mother trying to convince her to let him have an iguana for a pet. My description really doesn’t do the story justice. The text coupled with the colorful illustrations (David Catrow has a style all his own) are laugh-out-loud funny. You’ll have to read it for yourself to fully understand where I’m coming from. I especially like the colors. I never knew pencil and watercolor illustrations could be so vivid. I plan to look for more books by this author and by this illustrator.

2 thoughts on “I Wanna Iguana

  1. I love the idea of writing letters back and forth to Mom. As a former English teacher, I know the importance of starting children early in expressing themselves in writing. Even drawing pictures and pretend writing is a wonderful exercise for children to become literate. I think this story would be a great vehicle to encourage children to write.

    Like

Leave a Comment (I'd love to hear from you!)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.